Romance Alley Newsletter

Subscribe to Romance Alley newsletter and be updated with informations about new authors, articles, free reads, reviews and more. Click here

Book Trailer Design

Book Trailer Design
At Book Trailer Design I will work for you, and produce a personal book trailer design that will boost your book promotion with affordable rates. Visit

Sunday, November 7, 2010

GetToKnowTheBook: 'Giving up the Ghost' by Stacy-Deanne

Get to Know the Book: Giving up the Ghost by Stacy-Deanne

(Why I’m Jealous of My Heroine Detective Brianna Morris)

That’s ridiculous isn’t it? How can you be jealous of a fictional character you created? But come on, what writer hasn’t created someone that embodied all the traits physically or emotionally they wished to have? Funny, I haven’t met a writer yet that didn’t feel some envy toward one of their characters.

I love Bree. She came from the depths of my soul but I do envy her. I wish I was just like her. Bree has the best of both worlds. She’s beautiful and intelligent, yet sassy and tough. She calls the shots but she also has the option of being vulnerable. See Bree is a very tough cookie but it takes certain situations that I draw out to remind her she’s still just a woman. That’s what Bree fears, to be thought of as just a woman. She fights hard to prove she doesn’t need your help while not understanding that leaning on someone isn’t a sign of weakness. She goes all around the world to not admit she’s still hot for her partner Steven Kemp. Well, Bree never could turn down a blond with blue eyes. Neither could I.

So why the heck am I jealous? Bree is allowed to be perfect and imperfect at the same time. S he has the luxury of saving the day and being saved. I don’t have that. Real women don’t have that. With us it’s either one or the other. In real life you’re either weak or strong. You pick your battles and hope to survive them. There’s no one plucking keys on the other end, making everything okay. There’s no one there to yank us out of trouble by the next paragraph or to kill the bad guy on the next page. Bree, being fictional has all she needs. Thanks to me. I can do so many things for her yet struggle when it comes to me.

That’s one reason I’m jealous. But I love her. I really do. She is a part of me as much as a character can be. We have a bond that lasts no matter how many times I type, “The End”.

What I love about Bree is that she’s not just a character but a person. She has just as many faults as I do but manages to keep them under control. She’s lovely but not so lovely where I can’t relate. Her attitude stinks at times, just like mine on certain days. She’s the sweetest and most dependable person but she can be a bit bitchy too. And that’s me all over. When Bree’s not arresting sex offenders or wrestling with her lust for Steven Kemp, she’s just like me. Just like you. And it’s then, when I start to type and remember the traits that make Bree so special to me, than I remember not to be jealous.

Sneak Peek:

Albany Detective Brianna “Bree” Morris is having the year from hell. A sadistic admirer has been stalking her for months and now her friend Cheyenne Wilson has been beaten and left for dead.

With her ex-lover and faithful partner, Steven Kemp, Bree thrusts herself into the case. It’s not long before they believe two unrelated British men are connected to the attack. Michael is a womanizing artist with a ferocious appetite for rough sex. Simon is a wealthy free spirit looking for love in all the wrong places, but has one too many skeletons in his closet.

Bree struggles to determine fact from fiction when it comes to Michael and Simon but her attempts are blurred by Michael's manipulation and her sexual attraction to Simon, who Steven’s convinced cannot be trusted.

Meanwhile the stalker does everything in his power to get close to Bree and his obsession evokes a spiral of violence.

Bree must trust her heart to find answers but her heart leads her to the most dangerous man of all.

"Giving Up The Ghost" is BOOK ONE of Stacy's crime/mystery and interracial romance series featuring the strong willed and fiery detective Brianna "Bree" Morris and her lovesick, hot-tempered partner and ex-lover Steven Kemp who debuted in Stacy's award-winning 2008 novel Melody.

Fans of "Melody" and Bree and Steven will ravish this long awaited and exciting new series featuring passion, mystery, murder, seduction, interracial romance and intrigue!

Coming April 1, 2011 (Peace in the Storm Publishing)

To preorder a print copy:

Search for me on Facebook!


  1. Can't wait for the book, Stacy! CONGRATS!

  2. Great insight Stacy. Can't wait to read this. Congrats!


  3. Love the blog. How cool would it be to save the day and still be saved by asex hero!

  4. Great blog! Can't wait to read the book!


    Maxine Thompson

  5. Stacy girl I wish I had the time to write a book. Can't wait to buy this one! Good Luck Chick, I'll hit you up on the FB! ~Muah!~

    ~Caparice Paige~

  6. Hey Lady! I loved it! Thanks so much for sharing, and I can relate! I've felt a little envy towards my female characters too! We live through them, you know? LOL That's our inner selves wanting to be unleashed. Our writing helps us to heal and to grow in so many different ways though.

    Really enjoyed the excerpt and your insight darling. Thanks so much.



  7. Bree sounds like an exciting character to know. I look forward to reading your new book.

  8. Yep, I've been jealous of my characters too. Not only do they look better than me, but they have the perfect guy. *sigh* I adore Steven. He was so sweet in "Melody". I can't wait to see the chemistry between him and Bree again. Lucky girl. ;-)